Licensure Application Forms

Application for Licensure
     Fee: Dependent on date application is submitted. Please read form for correct amount.

Letter of Reference
     submit with initial licensure application

Licensure Examination Application

Requirements for Licensure

The 2018-2019 Licensure for Renewal is now open. Please review the chart below to ensure all requirements are submitted by the applicable dates. The application form is available on the forms page and is self-explanatory. If you have additional questions, please feel free to contact the board office. Thank you.

Amended July 1, 2014

The North Dakota Board of Addiction Counseling Examiners’ Law and Administrative Rules that govern the practice of addiction counseling in the state of North Dakota can be found on the board’s web site at http://www.ndbace.org.

In order to apply for licensure, you will need to complete the Application for Licensure form and return it to the NDBACE office. The time frame for application review may be up to 3 months as some applications must be reviewed by the full board at one of its quarterly meetings. (see Calendar page for upcoming meeting dates).All forms and associated fees can be submitted online at http://www.ndbace.org. Additional items required include:

  • ☐ Official transcript showing degree granted and the 32 credit hours in addiction studies. Transcript must be sent directly from the school to the NDBACE office.
    • ☐ Verification of completion of a Board approved 1400-hour clinical training program. This may be submitted by your clinical supervisor or clinical training program director
      -OR-
    • ☐ Verification of the completion of a non- Board approved clinical training which is considered substantially equivalent as  required by North Dakota Century Code chapter 43-45 and article 4.5-02.1.An official document verifying clinical training completion.
  • ☐ Letter of Reference forms should be submitted from the references named in Section VII to the NDBACE office.
  • ☐ Documentation verifying a passing score on board-approved examinations.
  • ☐ License fee based on date the board office received your application (indicated on Application for Licensure form.)

If you have practiced or been licensed in another jurisdiction other than North Dakota, you must indicate this on the application and contact the appropriate jurisdiction to complete a verification form and forward it to the NDBACE, in addition to the items listed above. A license from another state cannot simply “transfer” to a North Dakota license. The board must receive verifications in order to process your application.

It is your responsibility to properly complete the forms and send them to the NDBACE office at the address listed above. If you do not complete the application in full, it will be returned to you along with your application fee, and it will not be processed until it is complete. If you need any help or have any questions during the application process, please call the NDBACE office at (701) 255-1439.

NOTE:  It is against the law to work as an addiction counselor until you are licensed in North Dakota.

 Process Chart: Initial License Process chart